Skip to content

Financing a Galapagos Getaway

July 20, 2011

P1371

I am obsessed with Ecuador. Galapagos Islands are high on my list however this trip is notoriously expensive. I found this article that helped me put things in perspective in a financial way. This article helped me plan my trip to the famous Galapagos, hopr this info can help you too
I was there in the “off” season. That would lead one to believe that prices should be lower and availability greater. Not so! During this time, many boats are moored and there simply aren’t spaces. I was told by many an agent that the space he was trying to sell me was the last space for that particular cruise…of course I figured it was a line, but later, when inquiring about the same cruise from a different agent I would find it to be sold out.

Any reduction in prices is simply an indication that the worldwide economy sucks and has nothing to do with what time of year it happens to be. The tour operators and agents know how much you spent to get to

The Galapagos and seem reluctant to budge much at all on price. When you have negotiated the lowest possible fare on a cruise, there’s no room for the operator or the agent to pay any credit card processing fees – and I’m not sure that’s even possible on The Islands. I was able to go to the bank and get a cash advance for a sufficient amount to pay for my cruise in cash.
There was no fee for doing this, not even from the thieving assholes at Wells Fargo bank. There you have it, that might not be the way it’s supposed to be done, but that’s the way I did it. If this helps even one person plan for The Galapagos then I’m happy to have taken the time to write it up.

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

